Mulberry House aims to provide a stimulating environment that encourages young children to develop confidence and a foundation for a lifetime of learning. Our curriculum is based upon the National Curriculum of England and Wales. Children progress through the goals of The Early Years through to the Foundation Stage and the Reception Year.

The New Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum
The department of Education in the UK has issued a statutory framework for the Nursery setting, known as the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The framework sets out the legal requirements for the care of young children relating to learning, development and welfare. These are important areas all parents need to be comfortable with before choosing any type of childcare for their young children.
The EYFS framework sets the UK standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. The curriculum is built around four principles;

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

The curriculum is organized into the following areas;

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development, helping to build confidence, concentration, independence and respect.
  • Communication, Language and Literacy, developing speaking and listening skills and beginning to read and write.
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy, focusing on number work, mathematical ideas and thinking.
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World, helping children investigate and think about their place in the world.
  • Physical Development, relating to developing physical skills and understanding.
  • Creative Development, centred around building children's imagination.
  • Welfare, ensuring we are all aware of our responsibility for children's welfare. We will look after your child properly and help them to stay healthy. We also ensure Mulberry House is a safe and positive place for children.
© 2012 Mulberry House International Pre-School